Is There Room for Another Queen of Rap?

Since the beef between Iggy Azalea and Azealia Banks, it’s become even more apparent how few female rappers there are in the game. As of now, Nicki Minaj is the only female rapper really doing well and I would even say she is the Queen of Rap at this moment. (Sorry I do not consider Iggy a rapper.) Even though Nicki is known for her more popish songs, like Pound the Alarm, her most recent album The Pinkprint has really solidified her status as a rapper in my opinion. (Listen to it on Spotify!) But, I think it’s time for us to acknowledge some more female rappers and make room for another Queen of Rap.

haze

Her name is Angel Haze. You might have heard her rapping on Nick Jonas’s “Numb“. Whether you have or have not heard of her music before, Angel Haze is amazing and it’s about time we start celebrating more female rappers. Listen to her album Dirty Gold on Spotify!

Angel Haze got me like

fainting gi

Here are some songs for you to check out:

Otis ft. Iggy Azaela 

The very first song that I heard by Haze. Alongside Azaela, Haze slayed the game in her cover of “Otis” by Jay Z and Kayne West. Every single one of her verses was flawless. *bows down*

Battle Cry ft. Sia 

There’s no way to describe this song other than calling it perfection. Again, Haze slays each verse. The chorus sung by Sia is catchy and works well with Haze’s verses. Ugh so much perfection in this song.

A Tribe Called Red 

Haze starts the song with a mini monologue. “I remember being asked a lot, by a lot of different writers, zines, and shit, like, ‘Why don’t you incorporate your race, your ethnicity, where you’ve grown up, into your music?’ I don’t identify with that shit, like, my identity is the music, everything you need to know about me is in the music: my home, it’s where I originate, it’s where I fall apart, it’s where I come to life.” Then, proceeds to slay at everything once she begins rapping.

Cleaning Out My Closet 

I do not think there is any word in the English language that can describe this song. In her cover of Eminem’s “Cleaning Out My Closet”, Haze raps about her troubled childhood, including the sexual abuse she suffered at the age of 7. Just listen so you can be amazed.

Battle Cry(Acoustic)

Oh did I mention that she also sings? When I found this acoustic version of Battle Cry, to be honest I did not know what to expect. She’s a rapper. How many rappers decide to start singing and sound good? However, Haze surprised me. She is not a Christina Aguilera or Jennifer Hudson, but she still has a good voice.

Check out Haze’s interview with The Independent last June.

I hope you guys liked this post! Show your appreciation by liking this post and following my blog.

Thanks for reading!

zac efron

Leave a Reply

