Feminist Anthems

Everyone knows feminist anthems like “Run the World” By Beyonce and “BO$$” by Fifth Harmony, especially since feminism has been rising in popularity within the last year. However, there are many feminists anthems that were created before they were even considered feminist anthems. Here are some of my favorites.

Can’t Hold Us Down” By Christina Aguilera ft Lil KIm

cant hold us down

Photo Credit

Back in her dirrty days, Christina Aguilera was backing it up and criticizing double standards relating to gender.

Like a Boy” by Ciara

like a boy  Photo Credit

Christina wasn’t the only one to talk about gender-related double standards. Ciara not only talked about them but she slayed in a amazing hip hop choreography and wore baggy pants. Who doesn’t love baggy pants?

Do It Like a Dude” by Jessie J

do it like a dude Photo Credit

Because sometimes I want to do it like a dude and wear no pants.

I Don’t Need A Man” by PCD

i don't need a man

The Pussycat Dolls were killing it in the video and killing the stereotype that marriage will make a woman happy.

Survivor” By Destiny’s Child

survivor

Photo Credit

Lawd bless Destiny’s Child. Michelle, Beyonce, and Kelly wore animal skins while simultaneously telling there exes that they are stronger without them. Bye Felicias!

I Am Woman” by Jordin Sparks

i am woman

Photo Credit

When Jordin Sparks sang “It ain’t easy walkin’ in stilettos” I immediately sympathized because bruh it is not easy. But, Sparks sings to my heart throughout the whole song declaring “I am woman”. Because I am a woman and a sassy one. 😉

Woman’s Worth” by Alicia Keys

alicia keys Photo Credit

Last but not least, “A Woman’s Worth” by Alicia Keys. Keys was completely right when she sang “Wanna please wanna keep wanna treat your woman right Not just dough but to show that you know she is worth your time”. I mean don’t get me wrong if my future man bought me clothes, food, and gave me money so I could buy more clothes and food I wouldn’t complain that much. But, I’m worth a little more than that. I like Ben and Jerry’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough too. 😉

intersectionality

Photo Credit 

Thanks for reading!

kissing gif

Leave a Reply

